Ealing 3 Bridges Cricket Club is based at the Harrow Recreation Grounds, Harrow, North West London.


The club fields two Saturday teams playing in the 2nd division Middlesex Championship League and a Sunday team which plays friendly matches. In recent years the club has been the winners of the 1987 League, Middlesex Championship League, Divisions 3 & 4. Further the club has won several T20 Trophies in the last few years.


The club is a rich mixture of multiculturalism and operates as non- profit making organisation, it provides cricket for adult players within the local community and beyond. The result of which is that the club players comprise of a blend of cricketers from around the Globe.



Victorian Era - 1970/80s


The club`s history goes back to Victorian times when it was  known as the Hanwell Lunatic Asylum Cricket Team and subsequently, St Bernard’s Hospital Cricket Team until circa 1985, when successive Conservative and Labour Governments decided to sell/build on playing fields across London.


The Current Ealing Hospital and the former John Connolly Unit (demolished 2014) are built on what was one of the best cricket grounds in the Ealing area, in terms of size and quality, which was lovingly tended by the late John Hastings, Head Grounds man, through the 1970s/80s.


During the 70s the club hosted the “Clive Lloyd Cup” on many occasions and Charity matches where renowned international players would be in attendance. The team during this era was led by stalwarts, Ron Hart, Ken O'Brien Stoute, Silvern Hunte and the charismatic Burt Sandiford.





Circa 1990 a group of like-minded cricket enthusiasts (Rick Tucker, Kevin Connor and Cletus Nathanielsz) working at the ever- shrinking St Bernards Hospital, resurrected the hospital cricket team naming the club after the Three Bridges Forensic Unit, which in turn is named after Isambard Kingdom Brunel's engineering accomplishment (Three Bridges Ancient Monument) to be found adjacent to the hospital estate (Windmill Lane, Southall, Middlesex).  


During the first couple of years the club was nomadic, playing half a dozen or so fixtures a season within the local area of Ealing. The Club membership at this time was mainly made up of professionals from the NHS among others. 1993 the club settled in the St Mary's College (TVU) Grounds, Argyle Road, Ealing spending 17-18 years sharing the Grounds with the Gunnersbury Ladies Cricket Club. In 1997 the club was re-branded and the word "Ealing" was added to the name  on the advice of Middlesex Cricket Board in order to avoid any confusion with the other cricket club by the same name based in West Sussex.


International Tours


In 1998 the club embarked on a tour of Sri Lanka, where matches were played on Test grounds both in Colombo and Kandy. In 1999 a tour to Grenada in the Caribbean took place, where the club played, among other teams, The Prime Minister's XI and was later hosted by the Premier, The Right Honourable Keith Mitchell at his residence, which overlooked the St Georges' International Cricket arena. In recent times the club has toured Devon and Somerset on two occasions.


Two of the longest serving members of the club dating back to the mid 1970’s are Ken Stoute (Treasurer) and Cletus Nathanielsz, the latter serving in the capacity of Captain, Secretary and Chairman (1996 - 2012).  In April 2010 the club moved from Ealing to the Harrow Recreation Grounds (formerly Harrow St Marys CC). Since 2010 the club has progressed positively, growing in its membership, while continuing to uphold the very ethos it was founded on: “Cricket for all”.


Three Bridges Cricket Club

Hanwell Asylum

St. Bernard's Hospital (Source: English Heritage)

John Conolly Unit (Source: wlmht.nhs.uk)

Tour of Sri Lanka - Chaminda Vaas (1998)

Tour of Somerset & Devon (2008)

Division 3 Champions - Middlesex League (2012)